InfoPoland Poland on the Web
University at Buffalo
State University of New York
Annotated links to Poland-related information
a service of the Polish Academic Information Center
  NAVIGATION  Home > Geography > Regions > >   SEARCH  

>Warmia & Mazuria

Warmia (Ermeland or Ermland)
This historic region in the North of Poland was ceded to Poland from Prussia in 1466 by the Teutonic Knights, later passed to Prussia in 1772, and reverted to Poland after the second World War. The population of Warmia is over 1,463,000 (in 1998) and the total area is 24,203 square kilometers. Warmia is famous for its numerous beautiful gothic castles and palaces.
Mazury (Masuria)
A gently undulating, forested, lightly inhabited area with an amazing number of postglacial lakes - perhaps as many as 30,000. It is a favorite destination for Poles in summer. In the early Middle Ages it was populated by a Western Baltic people who went by the name "Prussians." In their effort to convert the natives to Christianity at the end of a sword, the German Teutonic Knights depopulated the area which became part of their state. Later, as Royal Prussia, the area became a vassal of the Polish Crown but the population was predominately German, in time becoming the East Prussian province of Germany. It reverted to Poland in 1945.
Together Warmia and Mazury currently form a single province.

For notes on other regions check out Annotated Listing of Poland's Regions
Mapservers Maps Descriptive Information National and Scenery Parks Lakes Olsztyn: The Capital of the province - 170,000 inhabitants
  • Colleges and Universities
  • Museums and Institutions

    Other Towns:
  •     17