InfoPoland Poland on the Web
University at Buffalo
State University of New York
Annotated links to Poland-related information
a service of the Polish Academic Information Center
  NAVIGATION  Home > Geography > Regions > >   SEARCH  


Opole (Opolskie Province)
The larger region in which the Povince of Opole is located is Silesia (¦l±sk) which, in terms of the current administrative division of Poland, also encompasses the Provinces of Silesia itself as well as Lower Silesia (Dolny¶l±sk). Originally the province was a Slavic settlement, and Opole, the capital of the region, was the seat of the dukes of Opole of the Piast dynasty (1163-1532). Later in the 16th century, the province became a part of Prussia but was incorporated into Poland again in 1945. Opole province is the smallest province in Poland. It is located in the southestern part of the country, on the trade routes leading from Germany to Ukraine. The advantages of the region include its accessibility, the beauty of natural environment, its high quality of soil and others. There are a numer of outstanding historical monuments in the province, most of them located in the towns of Opole, Nysa, Paczkow and Brzeg.

For notes on other regions check out Annotated Listing of Poland's Regions
Mapservers Maps Descriptive Information Colleges and Universities Opole: The capital of the province - 109,600 inhabitants

Map of Opole Province

Other Towns: Museums and Institutions