InfoPoland Poland on the Web
University at Buffalo
State University of New York
Annotated links to Poland-related information
a service of the Polish Academic Information Center
  NAVIGATION  Home > Geography > Regions > >   SEARCH  

>Dolny Sląsk

Dolny Sląsk (Lower Silesia)
Lower Silesia is located in the south-western part of Poland. The name Silesia derives from the tribal territory of a Slavic tribe called Slezanie that occupied this piece of land in the 10th century. Then at the beginning of the history of the state of Poland Silesia became the main center in the process of creating Poland under the rules of the Piast dynasty. The region is very attractive and healthy thanks to its nature's excellent qualities, mild climate, mineral springs and the stimulating air in the mountains. The oldest traces of human settlements in Lower Silesia dates back to the Neolithic age, which is 4000-1700 B.C. The province covers an area of about 19,950 square km. The population is approximately 3 mln people. Currently the province is the third region in Poland as far as income per capita is concerned. The region has valuable natural resources such as copper, brown coal and rock materials, which are exploited by the biggest enterprises in the region. Its well developed and varied industries attract both Polish and foreign investors.

For notes on other regions check out Annotated Listing of Poland's Regions
Mapservers Maps Descriptive Information

National Parks The Capital of the Province: Wroclaw - 640,000 inhabitants

Town: Brzeg Dolny - 13,900 inhabitants Town: Bystrzyca Klodzka - 11,800 inhabitants Town: Duszniki Zdroj Town: Glogow - 74,600 inhabitants Town: Jelenia Gora - 93,200 inhabitants Town: Karpacz - 5,800 inhabitants Town: Klodzko - 32,000 inhabitants Town: Legnica - 109,000 inhabitants Town: Lubin - 84,000 inhabitants Town: Stronie Slaskie - 7,300 inhabitants Town: Szklarska Poreba - 8,200 inhabitants Town: Swidnica - 65,000 inhabitants Town: Walbrzych - 140,000 inhabitants The Baptist Church The Catholic Church Judaica The Lutheran Church